Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) provides an expert, constructive, and objective critique of the applications under consideration, and makes funding recommendations based on defined criteria, including:

  • compliance with NCRC priorities, and alignment with the NCRC strategy;
  • whether the application meets the full requirements and objectives of the funding call;
  • the scientific excellence of the proposal;
  • the applicant(s) track record from previous grants;
  • value for money.

The members of the NCRC SAC are:

  • Professor Paolo De Coppi – Consultant Paediatric Surgeon at Great Ormond Street Hospital; Clinical Reader and Head of Stem Cells and regenerative medicine at UCL Institute of Child Health, London
  • Professor Colin Morley – Former Director of Neonatal Medicine at the Royal Women’s and Royal Children’s Hospitals in Melbourne
  • Professor Gloria Crispino – Founder and CEO of Statistica Medica Ltd. and Lecturer in Mathematics and Statistics
  • Professor Padraic Fallon – Stokes Professor of Immunology, TCD
  • Professor Maureen O’Sullivan – Clinical Professor, TCD; Consultant Pathologist, OLCHC
  • Professor Billy Bourke – Professor, UCD; Consultant Gastroenterologist, OLCHC
  • Professor Prem Puri – President of National Children’s Research Centre
  • Dr Jacinta Kelly – Chief Executive of the National Children’s Research Centre
  • Professor Colm O’Donnell – Consultant Neonatologist National Maternity Hospital & OLCHC; Director Clinical Research Unit NCRC
  • Professor Con Feighery – Consultant Clinical Immunologist
  • Professor Maria Brenner – Associate Professor in Children’s Nursing, TCD

Please note that canvassing of the SAC, by, or on behalf of, applicants, will render an application ineligible.